Hockey World Cup 2018 Venue, Teams And Schedule – Everything You Need To Know About Odisha Hockey

Mens' Hockey World Cup 2018 will start from 28 November in Odisha

Hockey World Cup 2018Sports is something which adds thrill to our life. India was earlier known as a cricket loving country, but with the influence of players like PV Sindhu, Sunil Chhetri, etc. in respective sports, other sports like Badminton, Football, and Hockey are getting a lot of recognition and appreciation from the Indian spectators.

Men’s Hockey World Cup 2018 is to begin soon, and in this article, I will share all the necessary information regarding the same.

Where will be the FIH Men’s World Cup Be Held?

The world cup will be held in Bhubneshwar, India.

What are the dates of the World Cup?

The Worldcup will be held from November 28 to December 16.

How many teams are participating in the world cup?

A total of sixteen teams will participate in the world cup.

The teams are divided into four pools. India, who is ranked No. 5 in the FIH Rankings, are placed in Pool C alongside Belgium, Canada, and South Africa.

What are teams in each Pool of teams?

Pool A: Argentina, New Zealand, Spain, France
Pool B: Australia, England, Ireland, China
Pool C: Belgium, India, Canada, South Africa
Pool D: Netherlands, Germany, Malaysia, Pakistan

Day-wise schedule of Worldcup

28th November
5 PM – Belgium vs. Canada
7 PM – India vs. South Africa

29th November
5 PM – Argentina vs. Spain
7 PM – New Zealand vs. France

30th November
5 PM – Australia vs. Ireland
7 PM – England vs. China

1st December
5 PM – Netherlands vs. Malaysia
7 PM – Germany vs. Pakistan

2nd December
5 PM – Canada vs. South Africa
7 PM – India vs. Belgium

3rd December
5 PM – Spain vs. France
7 PM – New Zealand vs. Argentina

4th December
5 PM – England vs. Australia
7 PM – Ireland vs. China

5th December
5 PM – Germany vs. the Netherlands
7 PM – Malaysia vs. Pakistan

6th December
5 PM – Spain vs. New Zealand
7 PM – Argentina vs. France

7th December
5 PM – Australia vs. China
7 PM – Ireland vs. England

8th December
5 PM – Belgium vs. South Africa
7 PM – Canada vs. India

9th December
5 PM – Malaysia vs. Germany
7 PM – Netherlands vs. Pakistan

10th December
Crossover matches

11th December
Crossover matches

12th December
Quarterfinals 1 & 2

13th December
Quarterfinals 3 & 4

14th December
Semifinals 1 & 2

15th December
3rd/4th place clash & Finals

As per the reports, the team coming at the top of the pool will directly qualify for the quarter-finals, while the teams finishing second and third will play the crossover matches for a place in the last-eight stage. Teams ending last in their respective pool will be eliminated.

Stay tuned to The Telescope for more updates on the trending stories.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Close Bitnami banner